347

I’ve been reading conversations with Francis Bacon today – very interesting indeed. He talks about Seurat, abstract art, art and music, art and literature, as well as on his own paintings – from what I understand he didn’t rate his pope paintings very highly. There are some quotes I must write down when I can get to the top of my desk (it’s a vortex of chaos again). It would be interesting for you, perhaps, if I included them in this little post, however being as disorganised as I am, I haven’t, which is poor I know! The book I’m reading was published by Phaidon so if you’re interested you could find it through that ‘friend’ of ours whose name rhymes with boogle… Anyway, here’s a drawing I did at the British Museum on Monday, a detail of a sculpture by El Anantsui with wood and paint referencing the traditional kente fabric from Ghana.

Pastel on paper

20121212-220803.jpg

Leave a Reply

