236

After yesterday’s copying I thought I’d try using the cross-hatching in a drawing of my own so with the girls immobilised by the box I attempted another portrait of my littlest one. I’m quite please with it – it is definitely a major improvement on some of my other drawings of her and on previous cross-hatching. I guess this is why copying the Masters is so worthwhile! I want to attempt some brush and ink drawings next so I’ll be looking at some Rembrandt for help there. On Monday I’m planning to visit the exhibition From Mategna to Matisse: Master Drawings from the Courtauld Gallery which I hope will inspire some more experiments as well as being food for thought for my college project (which I have yet to start – eek!). Over the weekend I’m going with my eldest to some events at the British Library for their Wonderlands – Children’s Literature Festival and their exhibition, Writing Britain where we will see some of Tolkein’s original artwork for The Hobbit. I may well collapse on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

