235

Today the grandparents caught their flight back to India. It was sad seeing them go, and odd too – it seemed as if they’d always been with us, that there was no other home for them to go to. But there is and it does mean that we regain our space, that I get to see my desk again! It also means a little loosening for me; I’ve found it a bit constricting drawing-wise, having them around, as I’ve mentioned before. No reason for it really except my own discomfort at drawing around other people. So today I sat in my pyjamas with my hair scraped up and I copied a picture by Maurice Sendak, an illustration from a Little Bear book called Father Bear Comes Home by Else Holmelund Minarik. I do love children’s illustration, though I haven’t done any for a while, and I admire Sendak’s pen and ink work enormously. So here’s Little Bear’s imaginary meeting with a mermaid. Not as good as the original but lots of fun to do.

Ink and digital colour

Leave a Reply

