Thirteen

Today my eldest brought home Avocado Baby by John Burningham from school so I decided to try and copy one of the drawings as an exercise because they look so simple, it’s such a sketchy line, and really: how hard could it be?

Oh hard, is the answer. That sketchy line sketches in just the right place to convey baby’s disdain and mother’s utter weariness and you can see I haven’t succeeded at either. There are other issues: media (I think he uses oil pastels as well as watercolour) of which he has mastery and I don’t, composition and colour (don’t make me laugh!). Anyway, very useful exercise indicating much learning to be done and a new depth to my appreciation of John Burningham. See more examples of his work on the Guardian.

Avocado Baby by John Burningham

 

Leave a Reply

